Pontiac GTA Enhancement information and discussions with Technical DIY and performance tuning information for the hardcore Pontiac GTA Owners and Enthusiasts.
Forum | Register Now | Members | Search | How Do I... | Calendar

Go Back   The GTA Source Page Message Forums > GTA SPECIFIC > GTA TECH

GTA TECH Want to discuss technical topics about your GTA.... engine tuning, mechanical upgrades, problem areas, etc.? Then post it HERE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2010   #1
resurrected1988
Can't Wait till the full Resurrection is just a positve and negative terminals..
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northeastern, PA
Posts: 78


Computer?

Hello guys


I have a the right computer for my firebird but I have the wrong chip for it.. I have a 305 TPI 5 speed but My computer has the chip in it for a 350 automatic tuned port injection..

I have a computer for a 1990 tuned port injection can I use the chip??. considering 1990 is speed density and 1988 is mass air.. I would think that I can use the chip because the 1990 computer has the ESC built into it, and i think the difference is in the computer but not in the chip...

anyone please let me know if i can put a 1990 TPI 5 speed 305 computer CHIP into a 1988 TPI 5 speed 305 Computer
resurrected1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010   #2
Rodimus_Prime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 277


Re: Computer?

by computer do you mean the ECM case, the thing thats about the size of a cd rom drive?
__________________

1989 Turbo Trans Am #82
2007 Cobalt SS G85, Harrop 1320LSJ 75MM, 298hp 254tq
Rodimus_Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010   #3
merc3065
Registered User
 
merc3065's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,057


Re: Computer?

You can't use the 90 chip on an 88 motor.

The computer will be looking for inputs that it will not get and will cause the thing to barf and throw a fit.

Buy an 89 chip from Ebay, the code is better and it's a little more reliable to tune and datalog than an 85-88.
__________________
merc3065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010   #4
strc09
Displaced Texan living in NC
 
strc09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Linden, NC
Posts: 1,405



GTA Year: 1988
GTA Engine: Custom
Re: Computer?

Using an 89 chip would only be good if you plan on removing the cold start injector (9th injector) from the car.
__________________
-Patrick

GTA: Grand Turismo Americano (Grand Touring America)
1 of 930 1988 Gunmetal Metallic GTAs produced (RPO 87U)
Built by Zeus Performance and tuned by Alvin from PCM4Less
Check out my website: Night Vision GraFX
strc09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010   #5
merc3065
Registered User
 
merc3065's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,057


Re: Computer?

You don't need to remove the 9th injector from the fuel rail. Just disconnect the wiring harness.
On an 89, when the computer runs through the starting process it pulses all injectors instead of the 9th injector giving a more reliable startup rather than a single bank getting more fuel than the others to start the engine. If you have a leak in the 9th injector, there will be problems as with any leaky injector, but you do not need to remove it in order to swap to the 89 code or chip.
__________________
merc3065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010   #6
strc09
Displaced Texan living in NC
 
strc09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Linden, NC
Posts: 1,405



GTA Year: 1988
GTA Engine: Custom
Re: Computer?

Interesting. I'm still using my 88 ECM that's running a custom burned chip from PCMforLess. The 9th injector was one of the things that was edited out.
__________________
-Patrick

GTA: Grand Turismo Americano (Grand Touring America)
1 of 930 1988 Gunmetal Metallic GTAs produced (RPO 87U)
Built by Zeus Performance and tuned by Alvin from PCM4Less
Check out my website: Night Vision GraFX
strc09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010   #7
merc3065
Registered User
 
merc3065's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,057


Re: Computer?

I have ran the $6E code on my 88 with the 9th injector in place but not plugged in, no problems on startup either. Also ran the $8E code for a while till I found the spark curve was far too aggressive.

I am running the $6E code from PCMforless currently with my own modifications to get a better BLM at idle and part throttle. The $32 and $32B have the provisions for the 9th injector in the code and can be edited out to turn the duration to 0 meaning the 9th injector will never fire, the $6E and $8E do not have that code and instead run both banks of injectors on startup for about 0.25ms on startup but only after 0.5s of crank time unless you modify. That is why some people's cars take 2-3 seconds of cranking to start, kind of like a dry prime of the oiling system.

'165 ECMs were used I think from 85-89 (Not 100% sure on 85/86). $32 code being 85-86, $32B code being 87-88, $6E code being 89, $8E being 89 corvette.

But like I mentioned above, pick up the proper chip for your 88 and engine configuration, or an 89 and your engine config. They will both work as they still have all the same pin outs, and data.

The reason I say go with the 89 is that you can datalog at 8192 baud instead of being limited to 160 baud and minimal data output from the $32B (87-88 code). I have had poor luck getting 8192 baud on the $32B without sync problems on my dataloggers.
__________________
merc3065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010   #8
resurrected1988
Can't Wait till the full Resurrection is just a positve and negative terminals..
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northeastern, PA
Posts: 78


Re: Computer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by merc3065 View Post
I have ran the $6E code on my 88 with the 9th injector in place but not plugged in, no problems on startup either. Also ran the $8E code for a while till I found the spark curve was far too aggressive.

I am running the $6E code from PCMforless currently with my own modifications to get a better BLM at idle and part throttle. The $32 and $32B have the provisions for the 9th injector in the code and can be edited out to turn the duration to 0 meaning the 9th injector will never fire, the $6E and $8E do not have that code and instead run both banks of injectors on startup for about 0.25ms on startup but only after 0.5s of crank time unless you modify. That is why some people's cars take 2-3 seconds of cranking to start, kind of like a dry prime of the oiling system.

'165 ECMs were used I think from 85-89 (Not 100% sure on 85/86). $32 code being 85-86, $32B code being 87-88, $6E code being 89, $8E being 89 corvette.

But like I mentioned above, pick up the proper chip for your 88 and engine configuration, or an 89 and your engine config. They will both work as they still have all the same pin outs, and data.

The reason I say go with the 89 is that you can datalog at 8192 baud instead of being limited to 160 baud and minimal data output from the $32B (87-88 code). I have had poor luck getting 8192 baud on the $32B without sync problems on my dataloggers.
Merc, I think it was you who told me a long time ago that you had a spare computer laying around..If You have something for my 88" 5.0L TPI Manual trans Would you want to sell it?.. I have 4 Computers, One from my 88' another from my 90 and two from a 91 and 92 formula.. all are useless to me lol.....

I looked on ebay. I find them, but they are all for automatic cars. I am guessing that means something.. Im down to this chip, and putting in the wiring harness and Ill finally be able to hear her start up,..
resurrected1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010   #9
merc3065
Registered User
 
merc3065's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,057


Re: Computer?

Both of my chips are for 350 autos. One has VATS, the other doesn't.
The non VATS one is in my car currently.

I'll see what I can find and let you know
__________________
merc3065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010   #10
merc3065
Registered User
 
merc3065's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,057


Re: Computer?

http://www.3rdgenformula.com/88/promcodes.htm

That link will list off all the broadcast codes. Yours is either AKFX or ANPK unless you have VATS then its AKHK.

Might be wise to hit up the boneyard to see what you can find. Generally even when the computer is exposed to the elements its pretty well protected because of where it is in the car, buried up inside the dash.

I can program a stock 305 manual chip, but I don't want to be responsible if it breaks heh
__________________
merc3065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010   #11
merc3065
Registered User
 
merc3065's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,057


Re: Computer?

Couple items up for sale on Ebay that may help you out ressurrected1988
Check them out, hopefully they are in your price range to get your GTA back on it's feet.

88 Camaro/Firebird 305 Manual TPI ECM+PROM AKFT 3.08 rear gear

88 Camaro/Firebird 305 TPI Manual PROM only AKFT 3.08 rear gear

I don't know how the ECM works in reference to output of the reported VSS speed. I don't think you need to modify the code in the ECM any, just the gearing and transmission gearing. The VSS will still output all the correct information as far as I can tell...
__________________

Last edited by merc3065; 04-12-2010 at 01:44 PM.
merc3065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010   #12
ThunderChicken
Hoarder
 
ThunderChicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fall Branch, TN
Posts: 936


Re: Computer?

I HAVE an '88 305/auto chip and NEED a 305/5-speed chip. Interested??
__________________
Bethany--1988 GTA Trans Am--Flame Red Metallic 305, 1995 V6 Bird, 2001 V6 Bird, 1998 NBM T/A


Click here for Firebird Fest of the Carolinas Information!!
ThunderChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013   #13
89gta22
1989 Trans AM GTA 350 5.7
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 1


Re: Computer?

I found this Thread and a have a bit of a different situation, but it involves the 9th injector and you all sound very familiar with this issue.
I have a 1989 350 TPI GTA and I just discovered that the engine wiring harness had endured years of hacking from the prior owner....soo I bought a used harness on ebay last week which the seller said was from an 89, however I now think it was in fact off an 88 GTA. I was just putting it in and realized that there is one misplaced connector on the drivers side of the harness for what I think is the 9th injector (connector looks similar to the other injector plugs). SO my question is, since I have an 89 with stock computer and stock TPI plenum (no 9th injector), and the only issue is that I have an 88 wiring harness in it, will I have any cold start issues If I just leave that 9th injector plug disconnected? I assume the computer being a stock 89 ecm would simply not be sending any signal to the 9th connector anyway since it would only assume 8 injectors. Thanks guys.
89gta22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013   #14
merc3065
Registered User
 
merc3065's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,057


Re: Computer?

You shouldn't have problems with start up.
__________________
merc3065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
computer upgrades GTA_340 GTA TECH 11 08-26-2004 04:19 PM
trip computer failure in my gta v0yt33 GTA TECH 13 07-28-2004 05:16 PM
computer? 8t8GTATa GTA TECH 2 03-18-2002 11:58 PM
GM Computer Program FiXX646 GTA TECH 0 02-05-2002 11:12 PM
Ready for a computer chip...... nblanchard GTA TECH 0 10-11-2001 05:04 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.