Pontiac GTA Enhancement information and discussions with Technical DIY and performance tuning information for the hardcore Pontiac GTA Owners and Enthusiasts.
Forum | Register Now | Members | Search | How Do I... | Calendar

Go Back   The GTA Source Page Message Forums > GTA SPECIFIC > GTA TECH

GTA TECH Want to discuss technical topics about your GTA.... engine tuning, mechanical upgrades, problem areas, etc.? Then post it HERE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2007   #1
yves_transam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 264


TPI problem

hie everybody...
...a long time...
Always with my power "leak"
the car well start when cold...less when hot...
not default RPM, no trouble code, the oil pressure is low graduation 0 till 400, when hot oil scale is less than 200 (canadian digit dasch) (oil is ok)
temp is under warm normal degree...normal is near 90 mine is most between 50 and 70...

the problem is essentially the lack of power...I change my tps sensor by a new and I saw that if I want to have 0,6 V...the inclinaison is maximal...can up more...(maybe there is a degree...no?)

So I'm lost with my car which I cannot drive over 190 miles without getting unleaded gazoil..

the ecm is new, the tps the TH 700 the sparks plugss are new...
help me thanks...
yves_transam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2007   #2
yves_transam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 264


Re: TPI problem

don't you like frenches????

nobody can help me??
yves_transam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2007   #3
merc3065
Registered User
 
merc3065's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,057


Re: TPI problem

It's hard to understand what you are asking.

You have no power and you are getting crap gas mileage.
Check the voltage at the O2 sensor. You may be running rich
Check the injectors, one may be stuck open causing a rich condition and flooding of the engine while trying to start.
Check the fuel pressure, make sure you are getting the proper amount of fuel to the engine.
Is there smoke on start up?
More information is needed...
__________________
merc3065 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007   #4
yves_transam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 264


Re: TPI problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by merc3065
It's hard to understand what you are asking.

You have no power and you are getting crap gas mileage.
Check the voltage at the O2 sensor. You may be running rich
Check the injectors, one may be stuck open causing a rich condition and flooding of the engine while trying to start.
Check the fuel pressure, make sure you are getting the proper amount of fuel to the engine.
Is there smoke on start up?
More information is needed...
hie sorry...I didn't believe anymore...
The 02 sensor voltage is right
how can I test fuel pressure and injectors...?
No smoke on start...

The car is running good at stop...is tarting very well....but a lack of power when i'm driving...but the engine seems to work well...
yves_transam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007   #5
FearThisGTA
"The only thing to fear is.............fear itself"
 
FearThisGTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: In front of you....
Posts: 4,742



GTA Year: 1991
GTA Engine: 350 TPI Automatic
Re: TPI problem

Then IMO, I would look at your timming.
__________________


Cliff Jones
1991 GTA Trans Am
w/305,231 miles
on the original motor!!!!
Time of Death on motor, 4:07pm on 05/29/2010.
Hp:211.2@4200rpms/Tq.328.5@2700rpms
Best et: 13.959@97.05mph
Best mph: 98.3
Best 60' : 1.875 on BFG Comp TA's w/ 32 lbs of air in them
FearThisGTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007   #6
yves_transam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 264


Re: TPI problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by FearThisGTA
Then IMO, I would look at your timming.
ever done...

For example a strange thing on my car...
The TPS is on 0,54v...that's ok..I changed it cause I thought it was out of order...
But When I put the new one...I couldn't put it over 0,55 v...cause the I couldn't move anymore the part...

It was up to the maximum...with the first one...it was on a nearly 90 degrees with 0,56...is it normal?
yves_transam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007   #7
FearThisGTA
"The only thing to fear is.............fear itself"
 
FearThisGTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: In front of you....
Posts: 4,742



GTA Year: 1991
GTA Engine: 350 TPI Automatic
Re: TPI problem

One of them could be the wrong part.
__________________


Cliff Jones
1991 GTA Trans Am
w/305,231 miles
on the original motor!!!!
Time of Death on motor, 4:07pm on 05/29/2010.
Hp:211.2@4200rpms/Tq.328.5@2700rpms
Best et: 13.959@97.05mph
Best mph: 98.3
Best 60' : 1.875 on BFG Comp TA's w/ 32 lbs of air in them
FearThisGTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007   #8
yves_transam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 264


Re: TPI problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by FearThisGTA
One of them could be the wrong part.
ah....so how could you tell me it's the write partr or not?
yves_transam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007   #9
FearThisGTA
"The only thing to fear is.............fear itself"
 
FearThisGTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: In front of you....
Posts: 4,742



GTA Year: 1991
GTA Engine: 350 TPI Automatic
Re: TPI problem

Thats easy, where did you get the part from and whats the part #? It could be boxed wrong as well. Does it physically look like the old one?
__________________


Cliff Jones
1991 GTA Trans Am
w/305,231 miles
on the original motor!!!!
Time of Death on motor, 4:07pm on 05/29/2010.
Hp:211.2@4200rpms/Tq.328.5@2700rpms
Best et: 13.959@97.05mph
Best mph: 98.3
Best 60' : 1.875 on BFG Comp TA's w/ 32 lbs of air in them
FearThisGTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007   #10
yves_transam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 264


Re: TPI problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by FearThisGTA
Thats easy, where did you get the part from and whats the part #? It could be boxed wrong as well. Does it physically look like the old one?
it doesn't look like exactly the same as the genuine one...

The reference is :
AIRTEX Part # 1P1064
W/EFI

http://www.rockauto.com/catalog/rafr...&parttype=2624
yves_transam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007   #11
yves_transam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 264


Re: TPI problem

sorry that's a mistake...
this is this part
QUOTE=FearThisGTA]Thats easy, where did you get the part from and whats the part #? It could be boxed wrong as well. Does it physically look like the old one?[/QUOTE]

it doesn't look like exactly the same as the genuine one...

ACDELCO Part # 213905 {#17111606}
Category: Throttle Position Sensor

$48.79 $0.00 $48.79
yves_transam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007   #12
FearThisGTA
"The only thing to fear is.............fear itself"
 
FearThisGTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: In front of you....
Posts: 4,742



GTA Year: 1991
GTA Engine: 350 TPI Automatic
Re: TPI problem

Can you post pics of the 2 in different positions so we can take a look at them and see whats up?
__________________


Cliff Jones
1991 GTA Trans Am
w/305,231 miles
on the original motor!!!!
Time of Death on motor, 4:07pm on 05/29/2010.
Hp:211.2@4200rpms/Tq.328.5@2700rpms
Best et: 13.959@97.05mph
Best mph: 98.3
Best 60' : 1.875 on BFG Comp TA's w/ 32 lbs of air in them
FearThisGTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007   #13
yves_transam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 264


Re: TPI problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by FearThisGTA
Can you post pics of the 2 in different positions so we can take a look at them and see whats up?
yeah...will do it this week cause my car is 20 km from home...

In fact with the new one cannot up to 0,55...the level is on maximum...cannot up more...
yves_transam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007   #14
yves_transam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 264


Re: TPI problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by yves_transam
yeah...will do it this week cause my car is 20 km from home...

In fact with the new one cannot up to 0,55...the level is on maximum...cannot up more...

hie I saw that thing on a book...
When we diag my car there was a strange thing about one point...there was a problem on the park switch...can it be a problem???

the TH 700 is new...and has been changed....
PARKINEUTRAL
POSITION SWITCH
On cars that are equipped with automatic transmissions, a parklneutral position switch is attached to the shift linkage. This unit submits a grounding signal to the ECM whenever the transmission is in park or neutral. It also provides information for the transmission torque converter lockup mode, the idle air control, and the EGR valve. The ECM will operate correctly with a manual transmission PROM f used in an engine swap with an automatic transmission and no park/neutral switch s available. In most cases it s a simple mat- ter to adapt an existing park neutral switch or even fabricate one using the appropriate components and the switch.
If you are doing an engine swap in California, the state requires you to have both a working vehicle speed sensor and a functional Park/Neutral switch. Your vehicle will flot be certif ied without them.
yves_transam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2007   #15
yves_transam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 264


Re: TPI problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by yves_transam
hie I saw that thing on a book...
When we diag my car there was a strange thing about one point...there was a problem on the park switch...can it be a problem???

the TH 700 is new...and has been changed....
PARKINEUTRAL
POSITION SWITCH
On cars that are equipped with automatic transmissions, a parklneutral position switch is attached to the shift linkage. This unit submits a grounding signal to the ECM whenever the transmission is in park or neutral. It also provides information for the transmission torque converter lockup mode, the idle air control, and the EGR valve. The ECM will operate correctly with a manual transmission PROM f used in an engine swap with an automatic transmission and no park/neutral switch s available. In most cases it s a simple mat- ter to adapt an existing park neutral switch or even fabricate one using the appropriate components and the switch.
If you are doing an engine swap in California, the state requires you to have both a working vehicle speed sensor and a functional Park/Neutral switch. Your vehicle will flot be certif ied without them.
I couldn't get pics this week...but someone got a idea on the post next time??? (see below)
yves_transam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008   #16
yves_transam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 264


Re: TPI problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by yves_transam
hie I saw that thing on a book...
When we diag my car there was a strange thing about one point...there was a problem on the park switch...can it be a problem???

the TH 700 is new...and has been changed....
PARKINEUTRAL
POSITION SWITCH
On cars that are equipped with automatic transmissions, a parklneutral position switch is attached to the shift linkage. This unit submits a grounding signal to the ECM whenever the transmission is in park or neutral. It also provides information for the transmission torque converter lockup mode, the idle air control, and the EGR valve. The ECM will operate correctly with a manual transmission PROM f used in an engine swap with an automatic transmission and no park/neutral switch s available. In most cases it s a simple mat- ter to adapt an existing park neutral switch or even fabricate one using the appropriate components and the switch.
If you are doing an engine swap in California, the state requires you to have both a working vehicle speed sensor and a functional Park/Neutral switch. Your vehicle will flot be certif ied without them.
noone can help me???
yves_transam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008   #17
MunsonGTA
Bad luck or no luck
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ravenna, OH
Posts: 1,948



GTA Year: 1987
GTA Engine: Custom
Re: TPI problem

i've always heard that if the neutral safety switch goes bad, the car won't even start. i highly doubt that's your problem. i would look more into the TPS issue, or possibly a vaccuum leak. what is your timing set at?

have you done any performance modifications such as heads, cam, or intake?

are you also aware the stock tpi motor stops making power around 4800 rpm? if you're trying to take it over that, that could be the reason you feel a lack of power.
__________________
87 GTA: Forged 408 LSX short block, TEA stage 2 cnc ported 243 heads, BTR Stage 3 stroker cam, Fast 102 intake, NW 102 TB, Longtube headers, custom 411 ECM, custom harness, custom tuned, Performabuilt stage 2 4l60E with PTC 2800 stall, 9 bolt rear with 3.70 gears and TAP girdle.

11.16 at 123 mph.
MunsonGTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008   #18
MunsonGTA
Bad luck or no luck
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ravenna, OH
Posts: 1,948



GTA Year: 1987
GTA Engine: Custom
Re: TPI problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by yves_transam

it doesn't look like exactly the same as the genuine one...

ACDELCO Part # 213905 {#17111606}
Category: Throttle Position Sensor

$48.79 $0.00 $48.79
that looks to be the correct TPS. atleast from the picture that i found for that part #.

take a look at this website for TPS and IAC adjustment, to make sure you are adjusting it correctly.

http://www.thirdgen.org/tpimod2
__________________
87 GTA: Forged 408 LSX short block, TEA stage 2 cnc ported 243 heads, BTR Stage 3 stroker cam, Fast 102 intake, NW 102 TB, Longtube headers, custom 411 ECM, custom harness, custom tuned, Performabuilt stage 2 4l60E with PTC 2800 stall, 9 bolt rear with 3.70 gears and TAP girdle.

11.16 at 123 mph.
MunsonGTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008   #19
yves_transam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 264


Re: TPI problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunsonGTA
that looks to be the correct TPS. atleast from the picture that i found for that part #.

take a look at this website for TPS and IAC adjustment, to make sure you are adjusting it correctly.

http://www.thirdgen.org/tpimod2
Thanks GUYS....

In fact I knew my car with a strong power...so I'm sure...there's a problem about electronic or vacum leak...

How can we check a vacum leak and on what part must I verify it...
PIcs are welcome cause I'm not strong in cheking engine...
my engine is a 88 350
ecm new/O2 new.../spaks plug new...no SES error
yves_transam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008   #20
FearThisGTA
"The only thing to fear is.............fear itself"
 
FearThisGTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: In front of you....
Posts: 4,742



GTA Year: 1991
GTA Engine: 350 TPI Automatic
Re: TPI problem

Somehow or another I am not quite understanding what exactly your wanting to know or waht your problem is?
__________________


Cliff Jones
1991 GTA Trans Am
w/305,231 miles
on the original motor!!!!
Time of Death on motor, 4:07pm on 05/29/2010.
Hp:211.2@4200rpms/Tq.328.5@2700rpms
Best et: 13.959@97.05mph
Best mph: 98.3
Best 60' : 1.875 on BFG Comp TA's w/ 32 lbs of air in them
FearThisGTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headlight problem tandy806 GTA TECH 4 03-31-2007 10:33 PM
Started a project "replacing TPI gasket/seals" by GTA89 Rakesh GTA TECH 4 05-27-2005 10:14 PM
Will it work?? 305 TPI to 350 TPI Urr Force GTA TECH 3 01-14-2005 01:39 PM
are you ready for a problem boys? 87 transam gta GTA TECH 11 06-03-2004 08:49 PM
TPI or Carburetor REMOVED USER GTA TECH 2 12-28-2000 07:53 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.